Recipe Time: Rainbow Fritters

IMG_0428

This is my take on a Zucchini Fritters recipe I came across in Flavour Magazine (Peter McInnes) I decided to perk it up with more vegies! This recipe is Gluten free, Vegetarian, Low GI, high in Protien plus easy to whip up. Eat them hot or cold, everyone loves a fritter…

My mum used to make a slightly less healthy version of these when I was a kid and called them “Mock Fish” which was always an easy go to meal for her. Without fail everytime I thought we were having some grosse fish thing (I didn’t like fish much) and would screw my nose up only to find they were yummy potato fritters mixed with zucchini and carrot. Unlike Mock Fish these have a much more appealing name and I’m sure will love them too, could even make bite sized as a luch box filler!

Ingredients:

1 Cup Grated Zucchini
1 Cup Grated Carrot
1/4 Cup Red Cabbage
1/2 Cup Shredded Kale or Baby Spinach
1/2 bunch Parsley, chopped
1/2 bunch  Mint, chopped
4 spring onions, thinly julianned
Zest from one Lemon
4 eggs
3/4 cup Almond Meal
Good pinch sea salt
Generous grind of Pepper
Coconut Oil

Method:

Place zucchini  and carrot in a colander. Mix through a touch of salt and let sit for 10 mintues. Squeeze out all the moisture with your hands. Place into a large mixing bowl. Add the rest of the ingredients. Mix well until combined. Cook a test fritter to see if the mixture holds together. Add a little more almond meal if needed. Cook the fritter in a pan, over medium heat, in a little coconut oil, for about 2 minutes each side or until browned and cook through.

Serving Suggestions:

When I first made these I had them with a pesto coleslaw where I mixed my Raw Basil pesto with some Mayo, cabbage and fresh parsley. These would also go great snacked with avocado, baby spinach and a tomato chutney or Smoked salmon, avocado, rocket and dill mayonaise.

If you do try these let me know how you served it!

Enjoy

❤ Lys

Leave a Reply

